Type to search

Meeting elections see good voter turnout, clashes reported in a number of areas | India Information

Latest News World

Meeting elections see good voter turnout, clashes reported in a number of areas | India Information


New Delhi: A excessive voter turnout was recorded in Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Puducherry meeting elections on Tuesday (April 6), with the Congress together with its allies just like the DMK locked in a eager contest to regain turf in South India.

In Kerala, the place the Left is hoping to beat anti-incumbency to retain energy, a feat unseen in 4 a long time, whereas the BJP is making efforts to construct inroads, almost 74 % polling was recorded until 7 PM. There was 63.47 % voting in Tamil Nadu for 234 meeting constituencies and 77.90 % in Puducherry until 5 PM.

The three-phase meeting election culminated in Assam with almost 79 % polling within the ultimate spherical within the state the place the ruling BJP is battling the Congress-led alliance to retain energy, whereas the development of excessive turnout and violence throughout polling continued in West Bengal because the ruling Trinamool Congress, the BJP and the Left-Congress alliance put up an intense combat within the high-stakes contest.

5 candidates, together with two ladies, had been assaulted in poll-related clashes as over 77 % voting was recorded in 31 seats in West Bengal until 5 PM within the third part.

Violence was reported in areas like Uluberia, Khanakul, Falta, Canning Purba, Durbrajpur and Hooghly, the place a BJP supporter’s member of the family was killed. The state is having eight-phase elections.

Stray incidents of clashes between employees of rival events had been additionally reported in different states.

The large polling train following COVID-19 well being protocol and involving lakhs of personnel started at 7 AM and the final hour from 6 PM to 7 PM was put aside for COVID-19 sufferers and people underneath isolation.

DMK Lok Sabha MP Kanimozhi, who’s being handled for COVID-19, voted at a polling station in Chennai whereas sporting a Private Protecting Tools package.

In Tamil Nadu, each the Dravidian events AIADMK and DMK went into the election with out their stalwarts, J Jayalalithaa and M Karunanidhi.

Chief Minister Ok Palaniswami and his deputy O Panneerselvam will cement their place as successors of Jayalalithaa if the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazagham (AIADMK) retains energy although it faces an uphill job particularly after the rout within the 2019 Lok Sabha election when the DMK-led alliance gained 38 out of 39 seats.

The AIADMK had scored successive wins in 2011 and in 2016, when Jayalalithaa bucked the anti-incumbency development — the primary by anybody in almost three a long time within the state.

After a slim defeat within the final meeting election the place a number of exit polls had predicted his celebration’s win, Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) chief M Ok Stalin spearheaded a decided election marketing campaign this time and vigorously toured the state to tackle the ruling AIADMK.

He’s in search of re-election for the straight third time period from the Kolathur section right here whereas his son and celebration youth wing secretary Udhayanidhi Stalin is debuting from Chepauk- Triplicane constituency.

AIADMK Lok Sabha MP P Ravindhranath alleged that he and his supporters had been attacked by DMK males on Tuesday. DMK’s Thondamuthur constituency nominee in Coimbatore district, Karthikeya Sivesenapathy alleged that ruling AIADMK and BJP individuals tried to assault him when he was travelling in a automobile.

Makkal Needhi Maiam, based in 2018 and led by actor-politician Kamal Haasan, is making an attempt its luck in Meeting polls for the primary time.

AIADMK ally BJP, which had not gained any seat within the final polls, is contesting in 20 constituencies. One other AIADMK ally, the PMK is contesting from 23 constituencies.

The Congress, an ally of the DMK, is within the fray in 25 Meeting segments. The counting of votes within the states shall be held on Could 2.

In Kerala, the place the Left Democratic Entrance (LDF) is in search of to interrupt the state’s four-decade-old development of swinging between the communists and the Congress-led United Democratic Entrance, the electors determined the destiny of 957 candidates in 140 Meeting constituencies throughout the state.

Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan, well being minister Ok Ok Shailaja, Devaswom Minister Kadakampally Surendran, Energy Minister M M Mani and Greater Schooling Minister Ok Ok Jaleel are among the many distinguished personalities making an attempt their electoral luck from the ruling facet.

Opposition chief Ramesh Chennithala, former Chief Minister Oommen Chandy, senior leaders Ok Muraleedharan, P T Thomas and Thiruvanchoor Radhakrishnan are amongst these contesting from the UDF fold.

The BJP, which has didn’t make a dent within the state, has fielded former Mizoram Governor Kummanam Rajasekharan, ‘Metroman’ E Sreedharan, who joined the saffron celebration just lately, state president Ok Surendran , senior chief Shobha Surendran and Rajya Sabha members Suresh Gopi and Ok J Alphons.

The ballot is critical for Kerala Congress (M) chief Jose Ok Mani who just lately snapped decades-long ties with the UDF and joined arms with the Left entrance.

Congress chief Rahul Gandhi had camped within the state for a number of days and brought half in dozens of nook conferences and rallies, with the celebration hoping that the state will herald a flip in its electoral fortunes after a sequence of disappointments in recent times.

Two voters, together with a girl, standing within the queue in Aranmula in Pathnamthitta and Chavittuavary in Kottayam collapsed and died.

Tempers ran excessive at Kattayikonam in Kazhakootam constituency, a stronghold of the Marxist celebration in Thiruvananthapuram district, as CPI(M) and BJP employees clashed.
4 BJP employees had been injured and their automobile was broken.

Devaswom Minister Kadakampally Surendran, who’s the LDF candidate from the constituency, informed reporters that the protestors aimed to disrupt the voting process and alleged that police had acted as “BJP agent”.

Three Marxist employees, together with the minister’s private employees, have been taken into custody. Sobha Surendran, the BJP candidate from Kazhakootam constituency, had earlier within the day held a sit-in in entrance of a polling sales space within the space.

Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan, in search of re-election from Dharmadom in Kannur, expressed confidence that the LDF could be voted again to energy and register a ‘historic win’.

The BJP account in Nemom, the solitary seat gained by the saffron celebration within the 2016 polls, shall be ‘closed’, he stated.

Congress chief Shashi Tharoor, nevertheless, stated {that a} excessive turnout all the time augurs effectively for the UDF.

Puducherry witnessed a contest between the AINRC-led NDA and the Congress-led Secular Democratic alliance.

Whereas AINRC fielded candidates in 16 of the entire 30 constituencies the BJP is contesting 9 seats whereas the AIADMK is contesting 5 seats.

Yanam, the place the AINRC chief N Rangasamy is contesting, registered the next share of polling than different areas.

The Congress has fielded candidates in 14 out of the 15 seats; the nationwide celebration is supporting an unbiased in Yanam.

The DMK, its principal alliance associate, has fielded candidates in 13 seats and the VCK and CPI are contesting from one constituency every.

The Congress-led authorities within the Union Territory had collapsed simply earlier than the elections.

Live TV


Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *